About Us Home | Contact Us | Site Map | Your Privacy  

Site Menu:

About Us
Our Services
Personal Accounts
Business Banking
Financial Guidance
F.D.I.C. Information
Hot Web Links




1st Farmers Bank Building -1911



1929 Photo inside the second

Farmers Bank Building



Our second Bank Building

Grand Opening Parade



Our third Bank Building



A brief snow shower


Mr. Hobart L. Townsend Sr.

Chairman of the Board
1979 - 1998

Our History

Farmers Bank opened its door for business in a side room of Milton Houston General Merchandise building in 1907.

The first board of directors were John H. Jennings, President, Will Jordan, S.L. Jennings, Frank Houston, Joe Wheat and M.L. Houston, who served as vice president and Joe Jennings as Cashier.

The first depositor was the late Mossie Arnold, former County Historian, who deposited ten cents ($.10). Rent for the building was $2.50 a month and the Cashier received $45 per month.

In 1911 the first bank building was constructed at 111 Tenn. Ave. S. at the cost of $1,680.67. The bank survived the serious depression of the early 1930s. It was among the first to open after the president closed all banks.

Mr. H.L. Townsend, Jr.

Joined Farmers Bank in 1957

President since 1979

In December 1944 the bank reached a milestone in operation with a total asset of one million dollars.

With continued growth and after two additions to the old bank quarters, the directors decided to construct a new building. The bank, located at 121 Tennessee Ave., S., opened for business April 7, 1954.

With continuing growth, the Bank once again needed more space, and constructed its current headquarters on the corner of Tennessee Avenue and Main Street in 1979, and moved into the new facilities in 1980.

The Original Directors:

Our Original Officers:


John H. Jennings
Will E. Jordan
S. L. Jennings
J. F. (Frank) Houston
Joe Jennings
Joe Wheat
Milton Houston


President-John H. Jennings
Vice-President-Milton L. Houston
Cashier-Joe Jennings

Customer Service Staff

Kyle Townsend

Valerie Townsend
Sr. Vice President and Cashier, CSR

  Donna Norris - Vice President, CFO

  Jason Leonard - Assistant Vice President, Customer Service Representative

  Tammy Wood - Assistant Vice president, Customer Service Represenative

  Hannah Baker - Teller
  Leah Coker - Teller
  Ashley Lindsay - Teller
  Tonya Hall - Teller
  Angela Tharp - Banking Specialist

  Rachel Sanders - Banking Specialist
  Seth Melton - Banking Specialist
  Elizabeth Miller - Banking Specialist

Farmers Bank is a community bank located in Parsons, Tennessee, midway between Memphis and Nashville in Decatur County.

Farmers Bank is a full service community bank insured by the Federal Deposit Insurance Corporation.